LibGuides: Information Literacy @ Your Library!: Research Tools

Your Research Toolbox

Different tools for reporting AND finding information:

the Information Cycle

Reference sources provide BASIC OVERVIEWS of and FACTS on a topic. These are great tools to start with! Use them to help you create a list of keywords for searching and fill in the Who? What? When? Where? Why? story of your topic.

eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial topics in pro and con essays published in the following series: Opposing Viewpoints, Information Plus, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, and Teen Decisions. Study tools and guidelines included.
Magill on Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides brief summaries of literary works, critical essays and reviews, literary characters, and biographies of authors. Includes the complete Magill's Masterplots and Masterplots II series plus: Magill's Literary Annuals, The Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill Book Reviews, and The Cyclopedia of World Authors and Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy Literature.

Books generally provide IN-DEPTH overviews, background and specific information on a topic. In other words, books provide a very holistic view of a topic.

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

Articles really zero in on specific aspects of a topic. Academic articles (aka: peer reviewed or scholarly) in particular present a very narrow focus and report on actual research done by experts in that field of study. Peer reviewed articles have to go through a rigorous process of review by other experts in that field before publication.

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 78 scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations on the field of psychology and related disciplines. 1985 to present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text biographies and critical analyses of over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Searchable by author, title, literary genre, literary movement, or literary theme. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twaynes Authors Series, Scribners Writers Series and other scholarly reference sources.

By Subject, Title and Vendor: http://sacguide.libguides.com/az.php

How Keyword Searching Works

Databases are only smart enough to play the matching game with your keywords!

Me: Match ONE keyword for me!

Research Tool: Here are items that contain that ONE keyword:

Me: Match TWO keywords for me!

Research Tool: Here are items that contain BOTH of those keywords:

Me: Match THREE keywords for me!

Research Tool: Here are items that contain ALL THREE keywords:

Me: Match THREE keywords for me and find alternate endings for "art" and "paint"!

Research Tool: Here are items that contain ALL THREE keywords with alternate endings on "art" and "paint":

Google plays the matching game, too! (more or less)

TAKE THIS POLL

Which search statement would give you the FEWEST number of hits? (Tip: the * picks up alternate endings. study* = study, studying)

Which search finds the fewest hits?

a. student success: 3 votes (30%)

b. student success and studying: 0 votes (0%)

c. student success and studying and habits: 4 votes (40%)

d. student success and study* and habit*: 1 votes (10%)

e. not sure!: 2 votes (20%)

Total Votes: 10

BONUS TIP: truncation * to expand

Don't miss out on great search results! Pick up alternate keyword endings with TRUNCATION: internet AND addict* The * finds: addict addicts addiction addictions