Career Sources - EDUC 1300 - Engel, Foster & Mendiola: Peer Review Plus

Decisions, decisions, .......

What's your salary? What will you do? - Tues., Nov. 1 - Engel's 8:00 am class

TASK: Find salary information for your career!

Click on Occupational Outlook Handbook or Ferguson's, do a search for your career, find the salary information.
Highlight and copy the salary information.
Click on the Comments link below and paste the salary information into the Comments box.
Add your name, name your career in the Subject line and Post comment.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Information on 2000 jobs in 93 industries plus tips on interviewing, skills employers look for in potential employees and how to prepare a resume. The resource section includes information on selecting a college, applying for admission to a college, scholarships and grants and professional associations and publications by industry.

Perceptions vs. Reality in the Workplace

Print - in Reference, 2nd floor MLC

Ref HF5381 .E52 2008	Encyclopedia of careers and vocational guidance
Ref HD5724 .F27 2005	America's top 101 jobs for people without a four-year degree
Ref HD5724 .O53 2006	100 fastest-growing careers
Ref HD6278.U5 F37 2005	America's top 101 jobs for college graduates
Ref HF5381.15 .F37 2006	Best jobs for the 21st century
Ref HF5382.5.U5 F363 2006	40 best fields for your career
Ref HF5382.5.U5 T67 2006	Top 300 careers
Ref HF5382.5 .U5 .C32	Career information center
Ref HF5381.2 .C37 2007	Career discovery encyclopedia
Ref HF5382.75.U6 F369	America's top white-collar jobs

Specialized Careers

Ref HF5382 .E98 2007 v.9	Extraordinary jobs in leisure
Ref HG173 .F55 2007	Career opportunities in banking, finance, and insurance
Ref HV8073 .E34 2008	Career opportunities in forensic science
Ref HV8143 .E34 2006	Career opportunities in law enforcement, security and protective services
Ref KF297 .E245 2007	Career opportunities in law and the legal industry
Ref ML3795 .B33 2006	Music business handbook and career guide
Ref PN4797 .B87 2007	Career opportunities in journalism
Ref R690 .F54 2007	Career opportunities in health care
Ref T65.3 .E95 2006	Exploring tech careers
Ref TK5105.875 .I57 T376 2007b	Career opportunities in the Internet, video games, and multimedia
Ref TT507 .V63 2007	Career opportunities in the fashion industry
Ref R690 .E97	Exploring health careers

Hire this grad!

Non-traditional

Balancing Act

Health Care jobs

What's your salary? What will you do? - Sat., Sept. 13 - Velazquez's 9:30 am Class

Library Task: Go into the Occupational Outlook Handbook or Ferguson's Career Guidence Center from the links below and find the median salary for your career choice.

Highlight and copy the median salary for your career.
Click on Comments, then Post New Comment link in this box.
Put your FIRST name in the Your Name box.
Leave the Your Email blank.
Put your career in the Subject box.
Paste the median salary into the Comment box.
Click on Post Comment and click on the OK in the next box.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Information on 2000 jobs in 93 industries plus tips on interviewing, skills employers look for in potential employees and how to prepare a resume. The resource section includes information on selecting a college, applying for admission to a college, scholarships and grants and professional associations and publications by industry.

Watcha gonna do with your life?

All In!

Career Dictionaries

Start with these books in our Reference area. If you can't get to the library there are two online sources you can use -- the first two entries on this page.

Encyclopedia of careers & vocational guidance
Call Number: Ref HF5381 .E52 2008
ISBN: 081606055X
Locate this 5 volume set in the Reference area.

This is one on the few sources that gives a history of your career.

Also full text in Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Career discovery encyclopedia
Call Number: Ref HF5381.2 .C37 2007
ISBN: 0816066965
New guide for occupational exploration
Call Number: HF5382.5.U5 F37 2006
ISBN: 1593571798
Not sure of a career choice, use this book to explore careers.
Quick guide to college majors and careers
Call Number: Ref LB2361.5 .S53 2009
ISBN: 1593576374