Search - Campus Equity Plan | Mona Aldana-Ramirez: Readings

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Recommended Text Readings ordered through Inter-library loan:

1. Adams, Maurianne and Bell, Lee (Eds.) Teaching for diversity and social justice. New York: Routledge, 2016.

2. Rothenberg, Paula S. and Mayhew, Kelly S. (Eds.) Race, class, and gender in the United States, New York: Worth Publishers. 2014.

3. Weissglass, Julian. Ripples of hope: building relationships for educational change. Santa Barbara: University of California. 1998.

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Position Statement

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of streaming educational films with content in: business, economics, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. New programs added monthly. Note: A high speed Internet connection is required.
Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
Access World News Research Collection | NewsBank | Includes access to San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window
Includes access to San Antonio Express-News.
International, national, regional, state and local news content from all 50 U.S. states as well as more than 2,700 international news sources from 139 countries. News content may be included in its original published language or translated into English.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold & The New York Times.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the content of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 to 2013. Includes full page, PDF format images for non-copyrighted years. Images for an additional year will be added annually as copyright expires. Includes the full run of the newspaper beginning with issue number one in 1851.

Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Margo Gutiérrez; Matt S. Meier
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.M5 M458 2000
Mexican Americans, like many other Americans, have a long history of struggle for equality and civil rights. Yet only in recent decades has that history begun to be included as part of mainstream American history. Bringing together a wealth of information on the Mexican American struggle for civil rights, this authoritative encyclopedia provides factual up-to-date information on the concepts, issues, plans, legislation, court decisions, events, organizations, and people involved in that long fight. It includes such leading figures as Corky Gonzales, Hector Perez GarcIa, Jovita Idar, and Alonso Perales, as well as many secondary leaders, and is rounded out with objective discussions of such topics as leadership, the movimiento, lynching, political exclusion, voting, and stereotyping. Appendices include a chronology and several basic documents critical to an understanding of the Mexican American Civil Rights struggle.
The Mexican American Experience by Matt S. Meier; Margo Gutierrez
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.M5 M4535 2003
Mexican Americans are rapidly becoming the largest minority in the United States, playing a vital role in the culture of the American Southwest and beyond. This A-to-Z guide offers comprehensive coverage of the Mexican American experience." "Entries range from figures such as Corky Gonzales, Joan Baez, and Nancy Lopez to general entries on bilingual education, assimilation, border culture, and southwestern agriculture. Court cases, politics, and events such as the Delano Grape Strike all receive full coverage, while the definitions and significance of terms such as coyote and Tejano are provided in shorter entries.
Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture by Cordelia C. Candelaria (Editor); Peter J. Garcia (Editor); Arturo J. Aldama (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 E59 2004
U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more.
Encyclopedia Latina : History, Culture, and Society in the United States by Ilan Stavans and Harold Augenbraum (Editors)
Call Number: 2nd Floor E184.S75 E587 2005 v.1-4
In its four volumes, 650 entries, 2000 pages and 1.2 million words, Encyclopedia Latina explores every aspect of Latino life in America from a myriad of perspectives, spanning the arts, media, cuisine, government and politics, science and technology, business, health, and sports, among others. While the collection represents an important cultural point of reference and source of pride for Latino youth, it will also serve the interests of an increasingly diverse American population who can all relate to the themes and stories included in this resource.
Celebrating Latino Folklore by María Herrera-Sobek
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 C455 2012
Latino folklore comprises a kaleidoscope of cultural traditions. This compelling three-volume work showcases its richness, complexity, and beauty. * 300 A-Z entries that describe the myriad topics of Latino folklore * Contributions from distinguished scholars from across the United States * Photographs, paintings, and documents that supplement and enhance the essays * A short bibliography of suggested readings accompanies each essay
Encyclopedia of Latino Culture: From Calaveras to Quinceaneras by Charles M. Tatum (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 E588 2014
This three-volume encyclopedia describes and explains the variety and commonalities in Latina/o culture, providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Latina/o cultural forms-popular culture, folk culture, rites of passages, and many other forms of shared expression. * Serves as an ideal resource for research that succinctly overviews myriad topics relating to Latina/o cultural traditions that general readers and high school students will find accessible and easy to use * Places Latina/o traditions within a historical context to deepen comprehension of Latina/o culture * Provides an exploration of identity, terms, and labels as well as sidebars, "spotlight" biographies, primary documents, and suggestions for additional information.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor)
Call Number: 2nd floor E184.S75 O97 2005
A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay. Kinsbruner, Erick Detlef. Langer
Call Number: 2nd floor F1406 .E53 2008
New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Ch̀vez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession.

Latino Civil Rights Timeline
From "Teaching Tolerance" a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964
Mexican American Civil Rights Struggles in Texas
C-SPAN interview with the authors. Historians talked about the history of Mexican-American civil rights struggles in Texas. Their recent books each examine different historical periods when Mexican Americans have struggled for equality. The panelists also responded to questions from members of the audience. Ricardo Romo moderated. Cynthia Orozco is the author of No Mexicans, Women, or Dogs Allowed: The Rise of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement about the League of United Latin-American Citizens (LULAC), founded by Mexican-American men in 1929. Emilio Zamora is the author of Claiming Rights and Righting Wrongs in Texas: Mexican Workers and Job Politics during World War II. David Montejano is the author of Quixote’s Soldiers: A Local History of the Chicano Movement, 1966-1981, about San Antonio, Texas.
Tejano Voices: Rosie Castro interview
She covers many aspects of the Chicano Movement and speaks freely about prominent Mexican American political figures Henry Cisneros and Henry B. Gonzales. She recalls the political gatherings at Kramer's Polish Restaurant and her involvement in the Committee for Barrio Betterment. She refers to her participation in an unsuccessful migrant education project in Michigan arranged through the Texas Institute for Educational Development and reveals the circumstances of her arrest during the 1970 boycott of the San Antonio Savings Association, which was owned by San Antonio's mayor, Walter McAllister. She refers to an incident at St. Mary's University involving Albert Garza Bustamante and George Velásquez and assails the Good Government League.
Mapping American Social Movements: Chicano Movements
Scholars have paid some attention to the geography of Chicano activism but not in the detail that now becomes possible with the maps this project provides. The starting assumption is that the movement was concentrated in the Southwest where Mexican American populations were largest. That is true but our maps show activism was not spread evenly through the region and that certain organizations and types of activism were limited to particular geographies.

Addressing Anti-Blackness Within The Latinx Community Resources

Below is a compiled (but not exhaustive) list of various resources that help address anti-Blackness within the Latinx community. This list was compiled exclusively for SAC by Dr. Claudia García-Louis.

Articles

Chesnutt, C. W. (1898). The wife of his youth.

Cruz-Janzen, M. I. (2002). Lives on the crossfire: The struggle of multiethnic and multiracial latinos for identity in a dichotomous and racialized world. Race, Gender & Class, 9(2), 47–62.

Flores, J., & Jiménez Román, M. (2009). Triple-consciousness? Approaches to Afro-Latino culture in the United States. Latin American and Caribbean Ethnic Studies, 4(3), 319–328.

García-Louis, C. (2020) Recuperando nuestra identidad: AfroLatinx students decolonizing their African lineage, International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education

García-Louis, C. (2018). Ni Latino, ni Negro: The (in)visibility of AfroLatino males in higher education research. Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity, 4(1), 97-122. 

Haywood, J. M. (2017). Anti-Black Latino racism in an era of Trumpismo. International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 30(10), 957-964.

Haywood, J. M. (2017). ‘Latino spaces have always been the most violent’: Afro-Latino collegians’ perceptions of colorism and Latino intragroup marginalization. International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 30(8), 759-782.

Hordge-Freeman, E., & Veras, E. (2019). Out of the Shadows, into the Dark: Ethnoracial Dissonance and Identity Formation among Afro-Latina/o/x. Sociology of Race and Ethnicity.

Manrique, L. (2016). Dreaming of a cosmic race: José Vasconcelos and the politics of race in Mexico, 1920s-1930s. Cogent Arts & Humanities, 3. http://dx.doi.org/10.1080/23311983.2016.1218316

Books

Alcoff, L. M. (2006). Visible identities: Race, gender and the self. New York, NY: Oxford Press

Available as ebook

Jiménez Román, M., & Flores, J. (2010). The Afro-Latin@ Reader: History and Culture in the United States. Durham, NC: Duke University Press.

Sue, C. A. (2013). Land of the Cosmic Race: Race Mixture, Racism, and Blackness in Mexico. Oxford Press. Available as ebook

Collectives/Websites

AfroLatin@ Forum

AfroLatinx Podcast

Black Latinas Know Collective

Black Lives Matter