The collection includes content for learning and researching medicine and related subject areas. The collection is comprised of training content, scholarly literature, and clinical reference suited for research needs.
This collection provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
This assignment invites you to explore a psychological topic of your choice by analyzing a scholarly journal article. You will critically engage with research to demonstrate your understanding of psychological terminology and concepts.
The purpose of this assignment is to help you achieve Student Learning Outcome #4: Use terminology unique to the study of psychology. By engaging with academic research, you will deepen your knowledge of psychology while developing your ability to apply psychological terminology in your writing.
1. Choose a Psychological Topic. Select a topic with psychology that interests you. For suggested topics look at the index of the textbook.
2. Find a Scholarly Journal Article: On our Library Day scheduled for March 26, you can visit with our campus librarian. The librarian will guide you through the process of using academic databases.
3. Read and Take Notes
Read the article carefully and take notes on the following:
1. Key terminology and concepts.
2. The research question or purpose of the study.
3. Methods, results, and conclusions of the research.
4. Write Your Analysis
Write a 2-3 page analysis of the article. Your paper should include the following sections:
Introduction:
Provide the article’s title, author(s), and publication details (journal name, year).
Briefly summarize the topic of the article and why it interests you.
Summary of the Article:
Describe the research question or purpose of the study.
Explain the methods used (e.g., participants, experimental design).
Summarize the key findings and conclusions.
Analysis and Application:
Discuss the psychological terminology and concepts used in the article.
Relate the findings to course material or other topics in psychology. Reflect on how the article’s findings could be applied in real-world contexts (e.g., education, therapy, workplace, or social issues).
5. Cite Your Sources: Include the reference for the article in APA format.
Psychology Research Worksheet
Name(s): ___________________________________________ Date: ___________________
Psychology Topic: ________________________________
Part 1: Article Details
Part 2: Article Overview
Part 3: Summary of the Article
Library databases require a login from off-campus!
What does the login page look like?
