CDEC 1319
Department of Early Childhood Studies
SPECIAL BEHAVIOR TOPIC ASSIGNMENT (50 points) –Newsletter Article
NAEYC Standards for Early Childhood Professional Preparation:
1b. Knowing and understanding the multiple influences on early development and learning
For this assignment, you will choose a topic from the ones provided in class. (Make sure you print your name by your chosen topic.) If you have an alternate special behavior topic that interests you, please speak with your instructor. Explore at least three resources in relation to your selected topic – focus on information for young children (birth- age eight years) Examples of resources include journal articles (e.g. Young Children, Dimensions of Early Childhood, ACEI Childhood Education), books, videos and agencies or reputable websites. When using the Internet, look for information in .org, .gov. or .edu files. Avoid .com sources (unless it is a reputable organization like the Mayo Clinic) because they are not always reliable.
Create a newsletter intended for parents and/or teachers to share information about your topic. You will also share the information with some of your classmates.
The newsletter article must be professional looking. All information should be typed and pictures should be included. Use color and other methods to make your article attractive and creative. Bring copies of the article (enough for everyone in your group).
Emotional and Behavioral Problems of Young Children by
This indispensable book provides hands-on tools and resources for addressing common emotional and behavioral problems in preschool and kindergarten-age children. The focus is on evidence-based interventions that are practical and effective, and that help prevent the development of more serious difficulties later on. The clinician is taken step by step through managing everything from toileting, eating, and sleep problems to externalizing disorders, internalizing disorders, and the effects of physical or sexual abuse. A variety of assessment methods are demonstrated and guidelines provided for planning and implementing a range of home- and school-based interventions. Conveniently designed in a large-size format for ease of photocopying, the volume contains over 30 reproducible parent handouts and other clinical tools. This book is in The Guilford Practical Intervention in the Schools Series.
Building Positive Behavior Support Systems in Schools, Second Edition by
A widely used practitioner guide and text, this book presents a blueprint for meeting the challenges of severe problem behavior in grades PreK-8. It shows how to provide effective behavior support for the 1-5% of students who require intensive, individualized intervention. Case examples illustrate step-by-step procedures for identifying student needs using functional behavioral assessment (FBA) and designing, implementing, and evaluating team-based behavior support plans (BSPs). The book also describes how to build school- and districtwide capacity to conduct FBA-BSPs. Reproducible forms and worksheets are included; purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the reproducible materials in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. New to This Edition: *Incorporates current FBA-BSP research and best practices. *Chapters on developing districtwide capacity; FBA apps and software; applications for academic problems; and early childhood settings. *Increased attention to FBA-BSP as a Tier III intervention within a multi-tiered framework. See also the authors' less intensive intervention for moderate problem behavior: Responding to Problem Behavior in Schools, Second Edition: The Behavior Education Program, and the related training DVD, Check-In, Check-Out, Second Edition: A Tier 2 Intervention for Students at Risk.
Children and Their Development by
This text is designed for undergraduate, topically-organized courses in child development offered in departments of psychology, human ecology, education, early childhood education, nursing and social work. Illustrating both the splendor of child development and the strides that researchers have made in understanding developmental psychology, this text presents the core research, theory and application of this field in a clear and engaging style. Written by a noted researcher in cognitive development using a modular format, students are encouraged to focus on the main concepts through the use of real case studies, outlines, objectives, study questions, special features and other pedagogical devices. Kail's approach ensures that students understand the key issues developmental psychologists study today without overwhelming them with details. Students benefit from a text that is both research-oriented and accessible.
Positive Child Guidance by
POSITIVE CHILD GUIDANCE, Eighth Edition, equips readers with information on how to guide, manage, and cope with the behavior of children. The book provides insight into children's efforts to understand their own emerging needs and feelings while coping with adult expectations. The author outlines workable steps for creating a cooperative, respectful community of children and adults, with special emphasis on sensitivity to cultural needs, cultural differences, and developmentally appropriate practice. You'll also find a range of practical, effective, and flexible guidance strategies based on principles of straightforward communication and assertiveness. This new edition includes critical advances in research and addresses the cultural trends that are changing the way babies and children are cared for today.
Boys and Girls Learn Differently! by
At last, we have the scientific evidence that documents the manybiological gender differences that influence learning. Forinstance, girls talk sooner, develop better vocabularies, readbetter, and have better fine motor skills. Boys, on the other hand,have better auditory memory, are better at three-dimensionalreasoning, are more prone to explore, and achieve greater abstractdesign ability after puberty. In this profoundly significant book, author Michael Guriansynthesizes the current knowledge and clearly demonstrates how thisdistinction in hard-wiring and socialized gender differencesaffects how boys and girls learn. Gurian presents a new way toeducate our children based on brain science, neurologicaldevelopment, and chemical and hormonal disparities. The innovationspresented in this book were applied in the classroom and provensuccessful, with dramatic improvements in test scores, during atwo-year study that Gurian and his colleagues conducted in sixMissouri school districts.
Teaching Young Children by
Using play as the method against which all others are compared, this book presents the strengths and weaknesses of different models of teaching, examines various methods of guiding young children's behavior, and shows how to create and maintain a positive learning environment. Finally, it discusses how to work as a team member in ECE settings.
The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook by
The World's most widely used medical reference. No home should be without it. This comprehensive medical resource, The Merck Manual - - Third Home Edition, extensively covers health care for newborns, the elderly, and everyone in between. The new Third Home Edition provides the same authoritative information doctors have relied on in The Merck Manual, for more than a century, in easy-to-understand, everyday language. Previous editions have sold more than 3 million copies. Written by more than 200 internationally respected medical experts, this new edition of the world's bestselling reference presents in-depth information for medical situations, including: Aging Gynecological Disorders Heart disease Digestive disorders Cancer Nutrition problems AIDS Hormonal problems Infections and immunizations Neurological Disorders Pediatric Disorders Men's, women's and children's health issues Mental health disorders Accidents and injuries Care for the dying And much more...
Library databases require a login from off-campus!
What does the login page look like?
