Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication 2327 - Mercado, Luis: Advertising

Print and Broadcast Media

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Fredstock 2019 Image

Fredstock is an annual family-friendly music festival that brings in an array of fans to hear a variety of music styles from performing artists.

Guests can walk through the sponsored booths of arts and crafts, participate in games, sample delights from food vendors, and admission is all free! Lawn chairs and ice chests are welcomed.

MARKETING PLAN ASSIGNMENT: FREDSTOCK 2019

I.  Summary/OverviewComplete the Summary/Overview last, this section summarizes each of the other sections of your marketing plan. The Summary/Overview will provide all interested parties helpful information presented required to successfully execute the plan.  A good marketing plan should identify the target market and how to reach them.

II.  Target Market Identify the customers you are targeting. Define demographic profile (e.g., age, gender), psychographic profile (e.g., their interests).  List wants and needs as they relate to attending a music festival or festival in general.  By identifying your target market, you will pinpoint your advertising to get a higher return on investment and better “speak the language” of prospective attendees.

III.  Unique Selling Proposition: Having a strong unique selling proposition is of critical importance as it distinguishes your festival from others.  Create a logo, tagline or adopt a mascot.

IV.  Price & Position The pricing and positioning strategy must be aligned.  Detail the positioning you desire and how your pricing will support it. Compare festivals among colleges/universities in San Antonio.

V.  Distribution Plan: The distribution plan details how to get the word out about the festival.  Think of ways to reach the target market. Identify different media that will deliver the message on the festival, consider all options.

VI.  Marketing MaterialsMarketing materials are the collateral used to promote the festival to all target markets.  Among others, they include the website, print items, etc.  Identify which items are completed and which need to be created or re-done.

VII. Promotions StrategyPromotions are one of the most important sections of the marketing plan and details how to reach a new audience.  There are numerous promotional tactics, such as television ads, trade show marketing, press releases, online advertising, and event marketing.  Consider all alternatives and decide which ones will most effectively reach your target audience.

VIII.  Online Marketing Strategy Today, customers go online to find and/or review new products and/or services to purchase. Having the right online marketing strategy can help you secure new customers and gain competitive advantage.

The four key components to online marketing strategy are:

  1. Keyword Strategy: identify keywords that would optimize the website
  2. Search Engine Optimization Strategy: document updates that will make the website shows up more prominently for top keywords
  3. Paid Online Advertising Strategy: identify online advertising programs selected to reach target market
  4. Social Media Strategy: document how you will use social media websites to attract customers

IX.  Joint Ventures & Partnerships:  Joint ventures and partnerships are agreements forged with other organizations to help reach target markets. Think about the wants and needs of individuals who enjoy music, concerts and festivals.   Identify organizations who share similar interests.  Document organizations in this section of the marketing plan and then reach out to try to secure their participation.

X.  Budget Projections:  The final part of the marketing plan is to create the budget projections. In your budget, include all the information documented in the marketing plan.  For example, include the promotional expenses you expect to incur and expected results. While your budget projections will never be 100% accurate, use them to identify which promotional expenses and other strategies should give you the highest return on investment. Also, by completing your budget projections, the marketing plan will identify set goals and reveal if the goals were met.

XI:  Class Presenters: List any individuals who make presentations to class and note their comments.

XII.  Promotional Examples:  Provide examples of any graphics, images that support the marketing plan. List as Exhibit 1, Exhibit 2, etc.

 

Google Web Search

Search Examples from Tools

Tool: Library Discovery

Try an all-in-one search for topics to get articles, books, and more. Use quotation marks "for phrases" and the * to pick up alternate endings in your search string.

Library Discovery - internet addiction - search example

Trade publications in the field of communication


The following list of major trade publications are available online via various SAC Library databases. The linked publication titles below will take you directly to all the issues online! You can then browse by the publication date or do a keyword search for a topic within that publication.

 


 

Adgully – Covers news in the business of media, marketing and advertising. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available.  The website has many articles, and at least some of them are the same as the print publication.  So you can use the databases as an index and (if you suspect there are important illustrations) see if the article is available on the website.

Advertising Age – Covers news and information about the advertising and marketing industry in the U.S. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available. Since pictures are important in articles on advertising, you may want to either see if the article is available on the website

Adweek – Covers advertising, marketing and public relations business and industries. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available. Since pictures are important in articles on advertising, you may want to either see if the article is available on the website 

American Journalism Review – Professional publication covering print and broadcast journalism.  All current and past articles are available on the website

Billboard – Covers music, video and digital entertainment industries. Since these are not pdf, there will be no pictures available.

Broadcasting and Cable – Covers the broadcasting industry. 

Columbia Journalism Review – Covers journalism and mass communications. Full text available on website.

Editor & Publisher – Covers all aspects of the newspaper business. Full text available on website.

Film Journal International – Contains reviews of films released and covers the film industry in general. Articles also available on website.

Folio – Covers the magazine publishing industry. Full text articles also available on website.

Hollywood Reporter – Covers entertainment news. Full text articles also available on website.

Home Media Magazine – Covers the home entertainment business. Magazine is available on website.

The Online Reporter – Covers digital media and broadband industry. 

Popular Photography – Covers photography and cameras for all types of photographers. 

PR Week – Covers the PR industry. 

The Quill – Magazine by the Society of Professional Journalists. Full text available on website.

Shoot – Covers film and content production for advertising. 

Smart Photography – Covers photography.

Wireless News – Newsletter covering wireless industry, including innovations in technology and business aspects.

The Writer – Covers all aspects of writing for all writers, editors, and students. 

Writer's Digest – Professional magazine for writers covering technique and sale of writing.

Off-campus access

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

  • ACES username is required for login
  • ACES password is your password for login

What does the login page look like?

 

San Antonio College Library
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC), floors 2-4
1819 North Main Avenue., San Antonio, TX 78212
Call us: (210) 486-0570 | Send Email