Search - EDUC 1300 - Lauer, Deanna: Database Research

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Academic OneFile
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
Discovery: search the catalog and more
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Education Research Complete
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
Educator's Reference Complete
This collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports is a great resource for any educator—from the school teacher and administrator to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Gale Power Search
Search all Gale databases at once!
JSTOR

Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
ProQuest One Community College
Offers subjects across the entire curriculum, including arts and humanities, business, health and medical, science and technology, and social sciences. It also provides specialized content for career and technical education and other areas like education, law enforcement, and a wide range of vocational topics.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools

Claude.ai
Claude is a next-generation AI assistant for your tasks, no matter the scale.
ChatGPT
A conversational AI system that listens, learns, and challenges. GPT has become the internet’s best-known AI language-processing model. The initials stand for generative pretrained transformer. That’s not a very descriptive title to the non-AI person. OpenAI developed the hot new model of text interface, ChatGPT.
MagicSchool
Free for Teachers! AI by teachers for teachers, "drawn from research-based best practices, feedback from educators, as well as our own experiences in the classroom, to create tools that will save time on repetitive, tedious behind-the-scenes tasks that only teachers understand require tons of effort… things like generating relevant content, writing IEPs, differentiation, creating assessments, and supporting school discipline."

Peterson's Test Prep
Users must create an account to use this product.
Information about universities, career schools, test preparation, and career exploration. Review for and take online practice tests for standardized exams: GED, GRE, GMAT, SAT, ACT, ASVAB, and TOEFL, etc.
LearningExpress Library
Users must create an account to use this product.
Includes materials for basic skills remediation, GED, college entrance exams, career licensing and certification, and improving job skills such as computer use and interviewing. Over 800 online practice tests which are immediately scored and more than 200 ebooks in PDF format are downloadable.
TeachingBooks
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books.
To explore additional content, student and educators can create an account for free.
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more.

Research Assignment

 Choose a Topic:
Select a specific topic related to your future career field.

Example: “The impact of AI on healthcare,” “Inclusive education in elementary schools,” or “Sustainability in the tourism industry.”

 Locate Three Scholarly Sources:
Use your college library database or Google Scholar to find three scholarly sources related to your topic.
Your sources must include:

Three scholarly peer-reviewed articles from three different databases (i.e., EBSCO, PROQUEST)

 Evaluate Your Sources:
For each source, answer the following:

Who is the author, and what are their credentials?
What is the purpose of this source?
Is the information current and reliable?
How does this source contribute to your understanding of the topic?

 Cite Your Sources:
Provide proper APA 7th edition citations for all three sources at the end of your document.

EDUC 1300 - Lauer, Deanna: Database Research

Welcome EDUC 1300 students

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Database access