Search - EDUC 1300 - Thatcher, Heather: Careers and Leadership Styles

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Three research projects:

1. an essay on barriers to college student success. (i.e. drugs, mental illness, poverty.)

2. an essay on careers - find out about career trends, salary, benefits, etc.

3. a project on different leadership styles including scholarly sources.

Find a peer-reviewed journal article to support the following topics.

Topics:

1. Do your emotions impact your motivation as a college student?

2. How does poverty affect college student success?

3. What effect does personality have on choosing a college major?

4. How could note taking during class be made more effective?

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 78 scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations on the field of psychology and related disciplines. 1985 to present.

Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH can help you find information on job duties, required education and training, salary, and the job outlook your career.
O*NET OnLine Lists all the basic information about careers plus offers you an in-depth look at special knowledge, skills, and abilities required in each job. Includes charts that compare salaries from your state to the nation and links to real time job ads.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Information on 2000 jobs in 93 industries plus tips on interviewing, skills employers look for in potential employees and how to prepare a resume. The resource section includes information on selecting a college, applying for admission to a college, scholarships and grants and professional associations and publications by industry.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

A-Z Database List

What aspect of leadership is most important to you?

For example:

management
guidance
communication
work ethic
sympathy
teamwork
critical thinking
listening
conflict resolution
adaptability

eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.

Search Examples from Tools

Education Research Complete

Off-campus access

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

ACES username is required for login
ACES password is your password for login

What does the login page look like?

EDUC 1300 - Thatcher, Heather: Careers and Leadership Styles

Reference Librarian

Career Research LIB-O-RAMA!

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Three research projects:

1. an essay on barriers to college student success. (i.e. drugs, mental illness, poverty.)

2. an essay on careers - find out about career trends, salary, benefits, etc.

3. a project on different leadership styles including scholarly sources.

Find a peer-reviewed journal article to support the following topics.

Topics:

1. Do your emotions impact your motivation as a college student?

2. How does poverty affect college student success?

3. What effect does personality have on choosing a college major?

4. How could note taking during class be made more effective?

What aspect of leadership is most important to you?

For example:

management

guidance

communication

work ethic

sympathy

teamwork

critical thinking

listening

conflict resolution

adaptability

Search Examples from Tools

Education Research Complete

Off-campus access