Search - EDUC 1300 - Menard, Lisa: Career/Biography Plus

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Career Research Essay

Open the Occupation Investigation Worksheet
Use the Library Guide to research your chosen career. Write a 500 word essay to discuss all sections of the Worksheet thoroughly (each item is worth 13 points). Use MS Word to format your essay. Indent your paragraphs, and double-space your lines.
Include a Works Cited page in MLA format with three or more sources.

Leadership Presentation

Identify an important leader who is known for her/his work in the field you plan to major in. They may be talked about in the news, or an important leader in history.
Research this person’s life and achievements. You may work alone or with a partner, create a five-minute PowerPoint presentation. Your presentation should include the following aspects of that person’s life:
1. What education and life experiences prepared them to lead?
2. What were their important accomplishments?
3. Most importantly, what was/is their leadership style? Explain why you are attributing the style to the leader. (We will discuss leadership styles and theories in class.) How were they perceived by others as a leader? (Be sure to include one or two slides that covers this in your presentation.) Refer to PowerPoint slides and information filed in this module for information about leadership styles.
Include a "Works Cited" page/slide in MLA Format. Include four sources.
You may use Power Point, or other presentation software you know. You may use the classroom computer and projector for your presentation.

Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH can help you find information on job duties, required education and training, salary, and the job outlook your career.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Information on 2000 jobs in 93 industries plus tips on interviewing, skills employers look for in potential employees and how to prepare a resume. The resource section includes information on selecting a college, applying for admission to a college, scholarships and grants and professional associations and publications by industry.

O*NET OnLine Lists all the basic information about careers plus offers you an in-depth look at special knowledge, skills, and abilities required in each job. Includes charts that compare salaries from your state to the nation and links to real time job ads.

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window Large collection of streaming educational films with content in: business, economics, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. New programs added monthly. Note: A high speed Internet connection is required.Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
Access World News Research Collection | NewsBank | Includes access to San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window Includes access to San Antonio Express-News. International, national, regional, state and local news content from all 50 U.S. states as well as more than 2,700 international news sources from 139 countries. News content may be included in its original published language or translated into English.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window Historical (primary source) documents, reference articles, and journals covering periods in U.S. history from precolonial times to the present. Includes citations for history journals from the Arts and Humanities.
World History In Context This link opens in a new window Identify themes from antiquity to the present with extensive coverage of the 20th Century. Includes journal articles, maps, images and over 2,000 primary source documents.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.

Proscrastrination Tales

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to 78 scholarly journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations on the field of psychology and related disciplines. 1985 to present.

Leadership Styles by Kippenberger
Format:eBookPublication year:©2002
Covers the key areas of leadership styles, from developing a style to suit the situation and organizational type to cross-cultural issues and the new interest in 'servant leadership'. Examples and lessons from some of the world?s most successful leaders, including David Simon and John Browne, Konosuke Matsushita and Herb Kelleher, and ideas from the smartest thinkers, including Manfred Kets de Vries, Ed Schein, Gareth Jones and Bob Goffee, Ken Blanchard and John Adair.

Credit: Ohio State University Libraries

Scholarly article - Psychologist
Keywords: psychologist and career and research
Limiters: Full-text; peer reviewed; last 10 years; chart; diagram

EDUC 1300 - Menard, Lisa: Career/Biography Plus

Hola Professor Menard and eager EDUC students

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Career Research Essay

Open the Occupation Investigation Worksheet

Use the Library Guide to research your chosen career. Write a 500 word essay to discuss all sections of the Worksheet thoroughly (each item is worth 13 points). Use MS Word to format your essay. Indent your paragraphs, and double-space your lines.

Include a Works Cited page in MLA format with three or more sources.

Leadership Presentation

Identify an important leader who is known for her/his work in the field you plan to major in. They may be talked about in the news, or an important leader in history.

Research this person’s life and achievements. You may work alone or with a partner, create a five-minute PowerPoint presentation. Your presentation should include the following aspects of that person’s life:

What education and life experiences prepared them to lead?

What were their important accomplishments?

Include a "Works Cited" page/slide in MLA Format. Include four sources.

You may use Power Point, or other presentation software you know. You may use the classroom computer and projector for your presentation.

Class Recording

Off-campus access