Search - English 1301+ - Robinson, Ashley: Searching for Sources

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Compare & contrast rhetorical strategies (MLK, Jr. & John Lewis texts)

Lewis, John. “Together, You Can Redeem the Soul of Our Nation.” New York Times, 30 July 2020, p. A23(L).

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of streaming educational films with content in: business, economics, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. New programs added monthly. Note: A high speed Internet connection is required.
Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial topics in pro and con essays published in the following series: Opposing Viewpoints, Information Plus, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, and Teen Decisions. Study tools and guidelines included.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores in-depth a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.
Access World News Research Collection | NewsBank | Includes access to San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window
Includes access to San Antonio Express-News.
International, national, regional, state and local news content from all 50 U.S. states as well as more than 2,700 international news sources from 139 countries. News content may be included in its original published language or translated into English.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.

Google Scholar Use the power of Google to search for scholarly articles and book chapters and link to SAC's full-text holdings.

More about Google searching.

Peer Review in Three Minutes
Short video explaining the process articles go through before they are published.

The "W" Questions

Who: Who are you talking about? Why should the reader know about them? Also, who is publishing the articles you are looking at? Who is doing the research on your topic?
What: What type of document is it? Is it a primary source or secondary source document.
When: When did the majority of research on your topic get published (especially important in the sciences)? Are you in a position to compare historical and contemporary information?
Where: Where is your topic being researched? Where is your topic relevant? Where are people talking about your topic? Are there specific places where your topic takes place or influences?
Why: Why is your topic being researched? Is it an important, urgent issue? Why do you like your topic? Why do you want to do research on it? Why is it interesting to you?
How: How are you going to do your research? How will you phrase your thesis or research question? How will you focus your topic?

The "W" Questions-Plus - Ask questions that support theories and practice.

Which one..?
What if....?
Should...?
How did...?
Why do...?
What would happen if...?
What might...?
How would you feel if...?
What do you think...?

English 1301+ - Robinson, Ashley: Searching for Sources

Librarian

Searching as Strategic Exploration

The "W" Questions

Who: Who are you talking about? Why should the reader know about them? Also, who is publishing the articles you are looking at? Who is doing the research on your topic?

What: What type of document is it? Is it a primary source or secondary source document.

When: When did the majority of research on your topic get published (especially important in the sciences)? Are you in a position to compare historical and contemporary information?

Where: Where is your topic being researched? Where is your topic relevant? Where are people talking about your topic? Are there specific places where your topic takes place or influences?

Why: Why is your topic being researched? Is it an important, urgent issue? Why do you like your topic? Why do you want to do research on it? Why is it interesting to you?

How: How are you going to do your research? How will you phrase your thesis or research question? How will you focus your topic?

The "W" Questions-Plus - Ask questions that support theories and practice.

Which one..?

What if....?

Should...?

How did...?

Why do...?

What would happen if...?

What might...?

How would you feel if...?

What do you think...?

Off-campus access

Research Process

Critical Thinking