Search - English 1302 - Espinoza, Leonila: short stories

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Fiction Paper: Literary Analysis Research Assignment

For this 4–6-page paper, you will select one of the pieces of fiction that we have read:

James Baldwin’s “Sonny’s Blues”
Poe’s “Cask of Amontillado”
Toni Morrison "Recitatif"
Judith Ortiz Cofer-"Volar"
Octavia Butler "Bloodchild"
Kate Chopin "Story of an Hour"
Charlotte Perkins Gilman "The Yellow Wallpaper"
William Faulkner "A Rose for Emily"
Ernest Hemingway "Hills Like White Elephants"

and build a research paper around it using one of these perspectives:

Historical
Sociological
Political
Psychological
Gender
Race

Goal: Make explicit the meaning and historical. biographical, sociological, political, or psychological context of one of the stories we have read in class. Will choose one of the above-mentioned perspectives and use that as the viewing lens for your paper. Aim is to explicitly discuss the literary techniques the author employs and how this helps shape their ultimate understanding of the story.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full text biographies and critical analyses of over 90,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Searchable by author, title, literary genre, literary movement, or literary theme. Includes Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twaynes Authors Series, Scribners Writers Series and other scholarly reference sources.
eBook Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full text ebook editions of reference works published by Gale Research, Charles Scribner's Sons, MacMillan Reference, and their divisions.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of streaming educational films with content in: business, economics, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. New programs added monthly. Note: A high speed Internet connection is required.
Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Historical (primary source) documents, reference articles, and journals covering periods in U.S. history from precolonial times to the present. Includes citations for history journals from the Arts and Humanities.
World History In Context This link opens in a new window
Identify themes from antiquity to the present with extensive coverage of the 20th Century. Includes journal articles, maps, images and over 2,000 primary source documents.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

Off-campus access

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

ACES username is required for login
ACES password is your password for login

What does the login page look like?