Search - EDUC 1300 - Ybarra Evans, Stacy: Career Research & Peer Reviewed Articles

Research as Inquiry

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) provides valuable career-related information on hundreds of jobs. Information provided includes job and work environment descriptions, salary information, and job outlook projections.
O*NET OnLine
O*NET Online includes information on skills, abilities, work activities, and interests associated with more then 900 occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career exploration and vocational counseling.
Peterson's Test Prep
Users must create an account to use this product.
Information about universities, career schools, test preparation, and career exploration. Review for and take online practice tests for standardized exams: GED, GRE, GMAT, SAT, ACT, ASVAB, and TOEFL, etc.
LearningExpress Library
Users must create an account to use this product.
Includes materials for basic skills remediation, GED, college entrance exams, career licensing and certification, and improving job skills such as computer use and interviewing. Over 800 online practice tests which are immediately scored and more than 200 ebooks in PDF format are downloadable.

Academic OneFile
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
General OneFile
One-stop source for news and periodical articles. Includes the databases in General Reference Gold.
College In Context
Gale In Context: College offers interdisciplinary content that reinforces the development of skills such as critical thinking, problem solving, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation. Learners can access news content including full-text newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian, and more. Empower learning with hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.
Discovery: search the catalog and more
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

Students will understand that research is a process of inquiry.

This activity will help you practice the following skills essential to your success in school and beyond. In this activity you will:

S1. monitor gathered information and assess for gaps and weaknesses

S2. draw reasonable conclusions based on the analysis and interpretation of information

This activity will also help you become familiar with the following important content knowledge:

K1. consider research as open-ended exploration and engagement with information

K2. seek multiple perspectives during information gathering and assessment

Get out a sheet of paper and write your career at the top.
Let's find the LibGuide for your course.
Search for your career in the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Collect and write down 3 types of information: 1 job responsibility (that either surprises you or one that you would want to just share with someone unfamiliar with the career), the pay, and the job outlook. [7 min]
Turn to your nearest neighbor and share! [2 min]
Whole class shout-outs and discussion: Did anyone have any responsibilities that surprised them? How many careers were in the $400K or more pay range? $100K? $60K? Why are these careers in those ranges? How many careers had a job outlook of over 20%? 17%? 12%? Why is the outlook different for these careers? [10 min]
Now search for your career in either O*Net or Ferguson's. Fact check the information you gathered from OOH. Write notes on whether you're finding the same information or different information. [7min]
Turn to your neighbor again and share what you found to be the same or different! [2 min]
Whole class shout-outs and discussion: How many of you found different information? Why should we look in different tools? Where does this information come from? [10 min]
Quick show of hands on which tool you liked best: OOH? Ferguson's?/O*Net?
Raise your hand if you think searching in multiple tools is a good idea! Yay!

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

What does the login page look like?