Skip to main content

Library SACS Accreditation 2015: Comprehensive Standard 3.8.1

Data and resources for our upcoming SACS review.

SACS Comprehensive Standard 3.8.1

The institution provides faculities and learning/information resources that are appropriate to support its teaching, research, and service mission.

SACS: Library Facilities

LIBRARY FACILITIES: SACS COMPREHENSIVE STANDARD 3.8.1

SACS Comprehensive Standard 3.8.1

The institution provides facilities and learning/information resources that are appropriate to support its teaching, research, and service mission.   (Learning Resources and Services) 

The complete renovation of the seven floors of the MOODY LEARNING CENTER, which includes the three and one half floors that are devoted to the library,  have greatly improved the ability of the library to fulfill its mission,  especially its goal to provide equipment, furniture and an environment that promotes learning.

1.      The increase in space of approximately 40% provides adequate space for current collections and moderate growth, for student use computer stations, for library instruction computer classrooms, for student study, for storage, for service desks, for individual staff work stations, and for technical services work areas.   In early 2009, there were no group study rooms, no comfortable (upholstered) seating, and only a few badly marred individual study carrels.  Since October of 2013, there have been eighteen group study rooms with an average capacity of six each, comfortable upholstered seating for 157, and 112  individual study carrels.   If every single seat in the library was occupied, the total would be 972 -- 10% of the 9290 student FTEs.  But more importantly (although sufficient statistics are not yet available) it is obvious that better seating and lighting and a quieter, more spacious and more attractive atmosphere are drawing more students to the library and they are staying longer.

2.      Lighting has been improved to library standards.

3.      Improved entryways and other sound proofing have greatly diminished the noise.

4.      Two new classrooms for library instruction now include seating and PCs for the largest classes.

5.      Included in the renovation was replacement of outdated PCs and other equipment as well as new furniture.

6.      The new public areas now have Wi Fi as well as sufficient outlets for students to recharge their electronic devices.

7.      A new performance area, equipped with a stage, podium, projector, computer, sound equipment and screen now enables the library to schedule cultural events that seat an audience of up to 75.

8.      Placing most public services (Reference, Reserve and Classrooms) on the 2nd Floor (the main entry floor of the building) is a more efficient grouping of most service functions.  However, the design of the building requires multiple entries/exits not only for public functions on the 2nd Floor but also for Circulation on the 3rd Floor and the study areas and special collections on the 4th Floor. This is not ideal for security, for traffic flow or for the efficient distribution of service staff.  However, only a building dedicated to the library could eliminate those imperfections, and those shortcomings do not yet prevent the library from carrying out its mission.    However, as the number of library employees continues to decline, it is increasingly difficult  to staff all the public service areas and it may be necessary to reduce public hours.          

Renovation History (Five Years)

1. 10/2010: Completion of the 3rd Floor [Library Circulation] of the Moody Learning Center

2. 08/2011: Completion of the library portion of the 5th Floor [Staff offices, work areas, and storage]

3. 01/2013: Completion of the Reference portion (MLC 200) of the 2nd Floor.

4. 06/2013: Completion of the Reserves portion (MLC 207) of the 2nd Floor.

5. 08/2013: Completion of the library instruction computer classrooms (MLC 208 & 209) on the 2nd Floor.

6. 10/2013: Completion of the 4th Floor [Library student study area, performance area and special collections]

Decision Making Process

The library faculty and staff can only recommend improvements to facilities.  Actual decisions are made at a higher level.  How does the library decide what recommendations to make?

1. Each year the Director forms a committee to prepare an annual Unit Review.  All library faculty and staff are encouraged to provide input as to what has been accomplished in the past year as well as what needs to be accomplished and the resources needed to accomplish those goals.  A library committee prepares and submits a much more detailed Unit Review every five years.

2. The committee submits its recommendations to the Dean of Learning Resources.

3. If funding for renovations that affect the library are approved, the library puts together a committee of faculty and staff to make recommendations and to work with architects and others regarding the needs and design to meet those needs.  Sometimes the library's recommendations are encouraged and even implemented -- and sometimes not. 

4. Once a facilities renovation is underway, an individual librarian or staff member is usually chosen to monitor the project or a portion thereof.   This monitor attends regular meetings with construction / architectural / facilities / administration oversight people and serves as the liaison between the library and others.  He tries to identify and inform relevant parties of potential interruptions of the library's operations as well as other problems or mistakes before they become permanent and may suggest changes / improvements to the plans. 

Library Floor Plans

Library facilities include the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th floors of the Moody Learning Center as well as MLC 500 on the 5th Floor.

Reference: Student Areas: MLC 200

FURNITURE, STUDY ROOMS AND      STUDENT
COMPUTERS FOR STUDENT USE   CAPACITY
Personal Computers   53
Upholstered furniture   21
Individual Study Carrels   16
Tables w/ seating   28
Group Study Rooms (6)   40

ADA stations for the sight impaired

    3
Total Student Seating  161

OTHER SERVICES:

1. Service Counter with two computers and a printer for use by reference librarians

2. 16,320 reference books

3. Print stations (two)

4. Copiers (two)

5. Evaluation Station (one personal computer)

6. WiFi

7. Numerous electrical outlets for electronic devices

8. Display case for displaying special collections such as banned books.

Reserves [Student Areas]: MLC 207

FURNITURE, MEDIA ROOMS, AND     STUDENT
COMPUTERS FOR STUDENT USE CAPACITY
Personal Computers    6
Individual Study Carrels    6
Tables w/ seating   35

Total Student Capacity  53

OTHER SERVICES

1. Service Counter with two computers and a printer for use by staff for circulating reserve materials, for interlibrary loan, for providing change, and for other services.

2. 1,425 Reserve Books

3. Copiers (three)

5. Evaluation Station (one personal computer)

6. WiFi access

7. Numerous electrical outlets for electronic devices

Library Computer Classrooms: MLC 208 & 209

FURNITURE & EQUIPMENT FOR STUDENT USE STUDENT CAPACITY
PCs for Student Use in 208 37
PCs for Student Use in 209 30
Additional seating capacity for 208  5

Additional seating capacity for 209

 8
Total Student Capacity 80

EQUIPMENT CONTROLLED BY FACULTY

1. Two projectors and two screens in each room, providing good line of sight for all students.

2. Each room has two personal computers for instructor use linked to the projection/sound systems.

Circulation: Student Areas: MLC 308

FURNITURE, STUDY ROOMS AND      STUDENT
COMPUTERS FOR STUDENT USE   CAPACITY
Personal Computers    5
Upholstered furniture   63
Individual Study Carrels   28
Tables w/ seating   54
Study Rooms (6)   38
Total Student Seating 188

OTHER SERVICES:

1. Service Counter with two computers and a printer for use by staff for circulating books and for other services.

2. 139,270 volumes in the Circulating Collection

3. Copiers (three)

5. Evaluation Station (one personal computer)

6. WiFi access

7. Numerous electrical outlets for electronic devices

8. Display case

9. Special moldings for hanging art exhibits

Furniture, Study Rooms, Performance Area, & Display Room for Student and/or Public Use: MLC 409

FURNITURE, STUDY ROOMS, PERFORMANCE,    STUDENT
& DISPLAY ROOM for STUDENT/PUBLIC USE CAPACITY
Upholstered Furniture    73
Individual Study Carrels    62
Tables w/ Seating   234
Group Study Rooms (six)     35
Art & Special Collections Display/Meeting Room     11
Performance Area     75
Total Student/Public Seating    490

OTHER SERVICES:

1. Service Counter with two computers for use by staff who monitor the area and provide access to the special collections.

2. 16,196 volumes in the Special Collections rooms

3. WiFi

4. Numerous electrical outlets for electronic devices

5. Special moldings for hanging art work.

Staff Facilities: MLC 500

MLC 500 is a staff/faculty office and technical services work and storage area consisting of approximately 6,600 square feet.  It is adequate for work areas and for current faculty/staff levels with room for expansion.  It includes the following areas and equipment:

1. 23 individual work station modules

2. One small enclosed office for one.

3. One larger combination office/storage area suitable for two.

4. One meeting room that can comfortable serve as many as fifteen.

5. Adequate additional work areas/surfaces for the technical processing of library materials.

6. One storage room dedicated to mobile shelving for books.

7. A sufficient number of storage cabinets including filing cabinets.

8. The personal computers, printers, scanners, copiers, and other equipment needed to perform necessary library functions.

Administrative Office

Includes a Library Director's office, a secretarial work station, and a storage room.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College