LibGuides: MAS: Mexican American Studies: Search

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Discovery: search the catalog and more
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
This list includes all SAC databases as well as curated OER and Open Access resources. You can limit your search by subject or database type.

Bracero History Archive
Includes oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.
The Documented Border: An Open Access Digital Archive
"Draws from the University of Arizona Libraries Special Collections Borderlands Collections, but also acquires and makes accessible oral histories and materials that broadens our understanding of the U.S.-Mexico border."
Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
From the UC San Diego Library, "Primary source accounts by the UFW volunteers who built the movement."
Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press Collection
"Documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."
Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
Provides access to a variety of digital resources including the Spotlight on U.S./Hispanic Writers from the PALABRA Archive and the The Juan B. Rael Collection: Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande.
Onda Latina: The Mexican American Experience
"Consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982."
The Portal to Texas History
"A gateway to rare, historical, and primary source materials from or about Texas." Includes The Ranger Digital Archives.

Delis Negron Digital Archive
"The Delis Negrón digital archive captures the life and legacy of the Puerto Rican writer born in 1901, who was also director, editor, poet, writer, English professor and activist throughout his residency in south Texas and Mexico City during the twentieth century."
La Bloga
"The world's longest-established Chicana Chicano, Latina Latino literary blog."
Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
Provides access to a variety of digital resources including the Spotlight on U.S./Hispanic Writers from the PALABRA Archive.
Rudolfo Anaya Digital Archive
The Rudolfo Anaya Digital Archive is an online resource that showcases Anaya’s life and work. Currently under development at UNM Libraries, “RADA” includes an introduction to Chicano/a literature, provides digital access to Anaya's manuscripts and papers, a complete bibliography of his published works, and a directory of all known critical, informational and multimedia resources about this award-winning author.
Voices from the Gap: Chicana writers
Voices from the Gaps was created to "uncover, highlight, and share the works of marginalized artists, predominately women writers of color living and working in North America."

Journal of Texas Music History
Try different keyword searches, for example, "mexican americans" or "san antonio." To view an article, click on the title and then on "Download' to the right of the image.
Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room
Provides access to a variety of sources including The Juan B. Rael Collection: Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande.
Mexican American Song
Library of Congress article with links to additional resources.
Onda Latina: Music
Interviews with Mexican American musicians from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" on the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
The Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
Includes excerpts of over 125,000 songs celebrating North America's Spanish-language musical heritage.

!Printing the Revolution! The Rise and Impact of Chicano Graphics, 1965 to Now
A Smithsonian American Art Museum digital exhibit
Chicano/Latino digital art online via Calisphere!
Includes thousands of images of paintings, murals, art prints, sculptures, drawings and installations.
San Antonio Cultural Arts Community Mural Program
Includes photographs of local murals and local artist interviews and short films.
Museo del Westside
The current exhibit features stories of women activists in the Westside of San Antonio.