Federal Depository Library

GENERAL SEARCHES

• USA.Gov
  Indexes over 20,000 Web sites containing over a million pages of federal information, allowing the user to find information without necessarily knowing first which agency is responsible. Managed by General Services Information, remember to use quotes around your search phrases.
• FDSys, Federal Digital System
  The Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It includes: a Content Management System which securely controls digital content throughout its lifecycle to ensure content integrity and authenticity. A Preservation Repository which guarantees long-term preservation and access to digital Government content. To meet this critical need for permanent access to Federal Government information, FDsys follows archival system standards. An Advanced Search Engine which combines modern search technology with extensive metadata creation to ensure the highest quality search experience.
• govinfo
  This is GPO's beta website that will eventually replace the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website. Being in beta means this site is a work in progress that we are sharing with you to get your feedback. When govInfo replaces FDSys, it will be sometime after 2018. The Discovery of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) contains bibliographic records for various formats of government information and links to electronic content where available, while govinfo contains full-text publications in digital formats.
• Discovery of U.S. Government Information (CGP)
  The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keywords, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. The Discovery offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record. Also try our federated search engine MetaLib to retrieve reports, articles and citations by simultaneously searching across multiple U.S. Federal Government databases. Note: be sure and use quotation marks around your query.
• Congress.Gov
  Legislative Information on the Internet; Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site with a system that includes platform mobility, comprehensive information retrieval and user-friendly presentation. It currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications.
• FRASER
  A digital library and archive of Federal Reserve, economic, and banking history, featuring publications, archival collections, and data.

SCIENCE AND MEDICAL SEARCHES

• National Technical Reports Library
  NTIS has changed to meet the demands of data driven government. We have a new mission: Provide innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence. Worldwide searching for federally funded bibliographic science and technology research information is now free on the Public Access NTRL website. The Public Access NTRL is open to all users for search and discovery.
• PubMed.Gov
  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
• Science.Gov
  Fourteen scientific and technical information organizations from 10 major science agencies have collaborated to create science.gov, the "FirstGov for Science" web site. Science.gov is the gateway to reliable information about science and technology from across Federal government organizations. Users can find over one thousand government information resources about science. These resources include: technical reports, journal citations, databases, Federal web sites, and fact sheets. The information is all free, and no registration is required.

SEARCHES OF INTEREST TO YOUNG PEOPLE

• Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
  A service of the Government Publishing Office, it is designed to inform students, parents, and educators about how the government operates, informative federal publications and information products.
• Kids.Gov
  This site was developed and is maintained by the Federal Citizen Information Center. It provides links to Federal kids' sites along with some of the best kids' sites from other organizations all grouped by subject. Targets grades K-8, teachers, and parents.

ARCHIVED DOCUMENTS AND DATABASES

• Archived Presidential White House Websites
  White House websites are Presidential records. The files that make up a Presidential administration's website are preserved in our Executive Office of the President Electronic Records Archive, however, the user interface is not. The National Archives has taken an additional step to "freeze" White House websites for access purposes. These "frozen in time" sites are representations of the original websites and approximate the interface and functionality for easy access by the public. These websites are no longer updated so links to external websites and some internal pages will not work. Begins with President Clinton.
• CyberCemetery
  The University of North Texas Libraries and the U.S. Government Printing Office, as part of the Federal Depository Library Program, created a partnership to provide permanent public access to the electronic Web sites and publications of defunct U.S. government agencies and commissions. This collection was named the "CyberCemetery" by early users of the site. Sites are organized both alphabetically and by category. Use the buttons in the left-side navigation bar to browse the archive.
• HathiTrust Digital Library
  HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
• Internet Archive Wayback Machine
  A comprehensive library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form, which provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. Contains over 10 billion pages. Can't find the previous administrations' papers? Check here.
• National Archives
  A product of the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), this site leads to Veterans' Service Records, Educator Resources, America's Founding Documents, and millions of documents, photos, and records. It includes information for citizen archivists, Federal employees, genealogists, members of Congress, preservationists, records managers, and the press.

SPECIALIZED ARCHIVES AND DATABASES

• A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation
  Subtitled: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates. In 1832, Congress established the Law Library of Congress as a separate department of the Library [of Congress]. It houses one of the most complete collections of U.S. Congressional documents in their original format. In order to make these records more easily accessible to students, scholars, and interested citizens, A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation brings together online the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75.
• Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
  Collected by James Jacobs at Stanford University, this is the first of two archives concerning CRS reports. CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress.
• DataLumos
  DataLumos is an ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) archive for valuable government data resources. ICPSR has a long commitment to safekeeping and disseminating US government and other social science data. DataLumos accepts deposits of public data resources from the community and recommendations of public data resources that ICPSR itself might add to DataLumos.
• DataRefuge
  Please note: these documents are documents from the EPA website. We do not claim ownership of these documents, and these files are posted for educational purposes only. We feel that it is important for the public to have access to documents about climate change (regardless of who our president is) and that is the purpose of this website.
• Deleted APHIS Annual Reports From Animal-Experimentation Facilities
  On February 3, 2017, with absolutely no warning, the USDA's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) deleted its database of reports concerning animal welfare at zoos, circuses, aquariums, puppy mills, etc., as well as their archive of annual reports filed by facilities that experiment on animals. (They've left cumulative statistics for recent years, but all reports from individual facilities are gone.)
• Directory of Federal Historical Offices and Activities
  The Society for History in the Federal Government presents detailed descriptions of departments and agencies in the Executive, Judicial, and Legislative Branch, plus the Library of Congress's Federal Historical Resources, and Documentary Projects Related to Federal History containing links to various collections where available online. There are over 500 collections, some of which are the Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony, Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers, and the Papers of George Washington.
• Epadatadump.com
  Please note: these documents are documents from the EPA website. We do not claim ownership of these documents, and these files are posted for educational purposes only. We feel that it is important for the public to have access to documents about climate change (regardless of who our president is) and that is the purpose of this website.
• EveryCRSReport.com
  CRS is Congress’ think tank, and its reports are relied upon by academics, businesses, judges, policy advocates, students, librarians, journalists, and policymakers for accurate and timely analysis of important policy issues. The reports are not classified and do not contain individualized advice to any specific member of Congress. Until today, CRS reports were generally available only to the well-connected. Now, in partnership with a Republican and Democratic member of Congress, we are making these reports available to everyone for free online.
• Executive Orders and Other President Documents: Sources and Explanations
  The Legislative Research Special Interest Section of the Law Librarians Society of Washington, D.C., Inc. (LLSDC) has compiled a site which attempts to briefly lay out and link to all major sources for these materials which includes Presidential directives, proclamations, signing statements, executive orders, memoranda, and other documents. In addition the site links to many sources, such as CRS reports, that explain these documents.
• Fine Arts Collection
  The General Services Administration has collected "The Fine Arts Collection is one of the nation's oldest and largest public art collections. It consists of mural and easel paintings, sculptures, architectural and environmental artworks, as well as prints and other works on paper dating from the 1850s to the present. These civic artworks are displayed in federal buildings and courthouses nationwide. In addition, more than 23,000 easel paintings, prints, and small-scale sculptures created during the New Deal are on long-term loan to museums and other non-profit institutions across the United States. Maintained by GSA as a part of America's national and cultural heritage, the Fine Arts Collection also serves as a reminder of the important tradition of individual creative expression. From its inception to the present, the Fine Arts Collection has two distinct characteristics: the artworks are commissioned to adorn and enhance civic architecture and they are paid for with taxpayers' funds. Therefore, these artworks belong to the American people, and are held in public trust for current and future generations."
• History, Art and Archives
  From the House of Representatives: this site is a collaborative project between the Office of the Historian and the Clerk of the House's Office of Art and Archives. Together, the offices serve as the House’s institutional memory, a resource for Members, staff, and the general public. Includes History, Art and Artifacts, Archives, Oral History, and Rights and Reproductions.
• The Memory Hole
  The Memory Hole 2 - run by writer and anthologist Russ Kick - saves important documents from oblivion. Its predecessor, The Memory Hole (2002-2009), posted hundreds of documents, many of which will be reposted on the new site.
• Papers of the War Department, 1784 to 1800
  Fire destroyed the War Department office in 1800. For decades historians believed that its files, and the window they provide into the early federal government, had been lost forever. This collection unites copies of the lost files in a digital archive that reconstitutes this invaluable historical resource.
• President Barack Obama
  Historical material from President Obama's White House. Every page, image and file attachment from Obama's WhiteHouse.gov remains online at obamawhitehouse.archives.gov. The archived site's own search engine works, and Google quickly began updating as well.
• SciTech Connect
  SciTech Connect is your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
• TRAIL, Technical Report Archive and Image Library
  Part of the Glboal Resources Network of the Center for Research Libraries, TRAIL's purpose is to digitize, preserve, and make openly available technical reports published by agencies of the United States government (initially limited to those before 1975, but expanded in 2015 to remove the date restriction). Technical reports often contain detailed information not published elsewhere, but can be difficult to find.
• Thurgood Marshall Law Library: Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights
  A partnership of the United States Government Printing Office, The United States Commission on Civil Rights and the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, this site provides access to important Commission documents.
• U.S. Government Posters
  Brooks Library at Central Washington University participates in the Federal Depository Library Program, taking receipt of documents from state and federal agencies. This collection highlights some of the posters held at Brooks Library. These posters were issued by agencies ranging from the Department of Agriculture to the Forest Service, the National Archives and Records Administration, the Department of Defense, and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration. The posters address issues such as water safety, oceanography, nutrition, erosion, soil conservation, civil law, and much more.