Federal Depository Library

STATISTICS

• American Factfinder
  Census reports covering population, housing, economic, and geographic data, as well as site tours and tutorials.

• Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA)
  Our mission is to provide timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes the GDP (Gross Domestic Product).

• Fast Facts - National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
  The primary purpose of the Fast Facts website is to provide users with concise information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning. Fast Facts draw from various published sources and are updated as new data become available. Additional references on each of these topics are highlighted within each fact.

• FedStats
  An invaluable resource that gathers statistics from more than 100 agencies.

• International Programs
  The Census Bureau compiles statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the world, from 1950 to the present and projections to 2050. The most readily available statistics concern population, infant mortality, and life expectancy. Other data sets cover fertility, migration, family planning, and literacy.

• Justice Statistics Bureau (BJS)
  Includes publications and tables on these topics: Corrections,Courts, Crime Type, Criminal Justice Data Improvement Program, Employment and Expenditure, Federal, Law Enforcement, Victims.

• Labor Statistics Bureau (BLS)
  A major producer of economic and general purpose statistics, especially in the field of labor and commerce.

• National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)
  The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples.

• National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
  Collects and reports statistics and information showing conditions and progress of education in the United States and other nations.

• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
  As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, statistical information is compiled to guide actions and policies for improving the health of this nation. This is a unique public resource for health information.

• Quick Facts
  Comparable data for 33 categories divided into People, Business, and Geography. Can link to summary data by state from 1993 on.

• Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
  Essentially the same source both in format and content as the paper edition. Internet searching is done by browsing the topic lists or using keyword searches. The What's New section points out data sources on the Web.

• Statistical Abstracts Series
  Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent census to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. Currently available: Colonial times to 2001. Unfortunately, this important document has now been outsourced to a private company. Patrons at San Antonio College Library can find the new edition online through our Discovery.

• Texas Demographer Center
  Not a US agency, but this site contains demographic statistics, presentations, and help with US Census data.

• Transportation Statistics Bureau (BTS)
  Includes data on airline information, international transportation, motor carrier information, along with a link to:

• Transtats
  Provides one-stop data shopping through access of more than 100 transportation-related databases. Explore by Mode, Subject, or Agency. Includes Aviation, Maritime, Highway, Transit, Rail, Pipeline, Bike/Pedestrian, plus the subjects of Safety, Freight Transport, Passenger Travel, Infrastructure, Economic/Financial, Social/Demographic, Energy, Environment, and National Security.