Search - EDUC 1300 - Calvario, Claudia: Leadership and PRJA

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Find a journal article to support your topic.

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases at once!
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
Leadership and Management This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.

The Research Process

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

Searching is Strategic Worksheet 7_3
How do I find my Best Bets?

Purpose: Students will understand that Searching is a Strategic Exploration

Skills:

The purpose of this activity is to help you practice the following skills essential to your success in school and beyond.

In this activity you will:

S.1. Understand how search tools are organized

S.2. Brainstorm keywords and select sources

S.3. Match information needs to a search tool

S.4. Design and refine a search strategy

Knowledge:

This activity will also help you become familiar with the following important content knowledge:

K.1. First attempts don't always produce good results

K.2. Information sources vary greatly in content and format

K.3. Recognize the value of browsing in gathering information

Sample Topic: How do different leadership styles among college student organizations affect member engagement and satisfaction?

Who?

What?

When?

Where?

Why?

How do different leadership styles within teams influence the academic success of group projects among college students?

Leadership Styles

Democratic
Fear
Autocratic
Bureaucratic
Democratic
Laissez-Faire

Directive
Empowered
Transactional
Transformational
Visionary
Charismatic

Leadership Qualities

Leads by Example
Develops Self & Others
Effective Communicator
Builds & Nurtures Trust Relationships
Competent
Credible
Displays Respect & Support for Others
Behavior Aligns with Company Values
Critical Thinking
Exercises Authority & Decision Making
Promotes Collaboration
Maintains Perspective
Change Agent
Innovator

Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH can help you find information on job duties, required education and training, salary, and the job outlook your career.
O*NET OnLine Lists all the basic information about careers plus offers you an in-depth look at special knowledge, skills, and abilities required in each job. Includes charts that compare salaries from your state to the nation and links to real time job ads.

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

EDUC 1300 - Calvario, Claudia: Leadership and PRJA

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Find a journal article to support your topic.

Purpose: Students will understand that Searching is a Strategic Exploration

Skills:

Knowledge:

Sample Topic: How do different leadership styles among college student organizations affect member engagement and satisfaction?

Who?

What?

When?

Where?

Why?

Leadership Styles

Democratic

Fear

Autocratic

Bureaucratic

Democratic

Laissez-Faire

Directive

Empowered

Transactional

Transformational

Visionary

Charismatic

Leadership Qualities

Leads by Example

Develops Self & Others

Effective Communicator

Builds & Nurtures Trust Relationships

Competent

Credible

Displays Respect & Support for Others

Behavior Aligns with Company Values

Critical Thinking

Exercises Authority & Decision Making

Promotes Collaboration

Maintains Perspective

Change Agent

Innovator

Critical Thinking

Off-campus access