Search - EDUC 1300 - Calvario, Claudia: Leadership and PRJA

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases at once!
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text scholarly research and information on all areas of education and all educational specialties, such as: multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, and related social issues. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals and the full text of 750+ journals. Full text of 80+ books also available along with full text for education-related conference papers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

The purpose of this activity is to help you practice the following skills essential to your success in school and beyond.

In this activity you will:

S.1. Understand how search tools are organized

S.2. Brainstorm keywords and select sources

S.3. Match information needs to a search tool

S.4. Design and refine a search strategy

This activity will also help you become familiar with the following important content knowledge:

K.1. First attempts don't always produce good results

K.2. Information sources vary greatly in content and format

K.3. Recognize the value of browsing in gathering information

Occupational Outlook Handbook The OOH can help you find information on job duties, required education and training, salary, and the job outlook your career.
O*NET OnLine Lists all the basic information about careers plus offers you an in-depth look at special knowledge, skills, and abilities required in each job. Includes charts that compare salaries from your state to the nation and links to real time job ads.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Information on 2000 jobs in 93 industries plus tips on interviewing, skills employers look for in potential employees and how to prepare a resume. The resource section includes information on selecting a college, applying for admission to a college, scholarships and grants and professional associations and publications by industry.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

Library databases require a login from off-campus!

What does the login page look like?