Search - English 1301 - Iyengar, Kalpana: Social issue

Searching as Strategic Exploration

1. Racism and Terrorism
2. Prostitution in Japan
3. Domestic Violence
4. Prevention of Sex Trafficking
5. Discrimination Against Black Women in Workplace
6. Sexual Assault
7. Prostitution in Netherlands
8. Mass School Shooting and Mental Health Issues
9. Islamophobia
10. Relationship Abuse
11. Anti-Semitism in America
12. Criminalization of Black Youth in America [My Suggestion]
13. Commodification of Women’s Bodies [My Suggestion]
14. Children and Human Rights
15. Domestic Bullying
16. Sex Trafficking in Military Bases
17. LGBTQ+ and Legal Issues
18. Police Brutality [My Suggestion]
19. Me Too Movement [My Suggestion]
20. Rape Culture
21. Rape Stereotypes [My Suggestion]
22. Marine Water Pollution
23. Global Warming
24. Sex Workers: Unintended Pregnancies
25. Racial Discrimination and Children in the Border
26. Mexico’s Street Children
27. Cyberbullying
28. Role of Catholicism in LGBTQ+ Discrimination
29. Child Labour [My Suggestion]
30. Skin Bleaching
31. Gun Safety in Schools
32. Sweatshops in Bangladesh
33. Maquiladoras in Mexico [My Suggestion]
34. Media Manipulation of Mexican Immigrants
35. Safe Classrooms
36. Voter Suppression
37. Fast Fashion
38. Electronic Waste
39. Commercial Surrogacy in India [My Suggestion]
40. Educational Inequity and Refugee Population
41. Refugee Displacement [My Suggestion]

The "W" Questions

Who am I interested in learning about?
- Who might be writing about my topic?
  - Who might benefit from the research?
What do I really want to know about my topic?
- What results or conclusions am I hoping to find?
When would the topic have been written about?
- Am I interested in recent information on my topic or does date matter?
Where would the research have taken place?
- Am I interested in one particular geographical area?
Why is my topic important to me or others? Does it advance the knowledge of a particular field of study or group of people?
How might information on my topic be used? How might the information impact the field of study, society, or culture?

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference contains hundreds of specially curated encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works with the ability to search across resources. Mind Map visually shows relationships between topics.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial topics in pro and con essays published in the following series: Opposing Viewpoints, Information Plus, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, and Teen Decisions. Study tools and guidelines included.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases at once!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.

A-to-Z List & Subject List of Search Tools
See a list of all library search tools organized alphabetically and by subject area.

English 1301 - Iyengar, Kalpana: Social issue

Librarian

Searching as Strategic Exploration

The "W" Questions

Who am I interested in learning about?

Who might be writing about my topic?

Who might benefit from the research?

What do I really want to know about my topic?

What results or conclusions am I hoping to find?

When would the topic have been written about?

Am I interested in recent information on my topic or does date matter?

Where would the research have taken place?

Am I interested in one particular geographical area?

Why is my topic important to me or others? Does it advance the knowledge of a particular field of study or group of people?

How might information on my topic be used? How might the information impact the field of study, society, or culture?

Off-campus access