Search - ENGL 1301 - Perry-Samaniego, Lenora: Research a Controversial Issue

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial topics in pro and con essays published in the following series: Opposing Viewpoints, Information Plus, At Issue, Contemporary Issues Companion, Current Controversies, Opposing Viewpoints Digests, and Teen Decisions. Study tools and guidelines included.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores in-depth a single "hot" issue in the news each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue.
Nexis Uni | LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Some full-text for items.
International in scope covering news, business and company information, health, legal cases/articles, Federal and State laws, and Federal regulations.
Access World News Research Collection | NewsBank | Includes access to San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window
Includes access to San Antonio Express-News.
International, national, regional, state and local news content from all 50 U.S. states as well as more than 2,700 international news sources from 139 countries. News content may be included in its original published language or translated into English.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

Journal of Higher Education in Prison This link opens in a new window
Established in 2019, the Journal of Higher Education in Prison is the only open-access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes exclusively on topics and issues affecting the field of higher education in prison. Our goal is that the journal will serve as a tool to facilitate conversation on theory, praxis, and teaching and learning in prison.

Note: The Journal of Higher Education in Prison is published independently by the Alliance for Higher Education in Prison and is supported by an Editorial Board.

See Chapter 8. Choose an issue or a controversy that interests both you and your audience. Try brainstorming a list of these issues. Start with the headlines of a newspaper or news magazine, review the letters to the editor, check the political cartoons on the opinion page, or watch for stories on demonstrations or protests. You might also consult the library index to CQ Researcher (a respected source for reporting), browse news or opinion websites, talk with friends, or consider topics raised in class. Research using our library's databases and write a 3-4 page essay that takes a stand on an issue. Your thesis should be argumentative and make a claim about your topic. Some topics to consider are:

Immigration
LGBTQ Rights
Black Lives Matter
Endangered species vs. industry
Tariffs
Climate Change
School Vouchers

There are many more topics from which to choose. You must use at least two sources from the library databases in your essay to support your position and one that supports the other side of the argument for a total of THREE sources.

ENGL 1301 - Perry-Samaniego, Lenora: Research a Controversial Issue

Reference Librarian

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Off-campus access