September 2022: Deirdre Lannon, Professor of History, recommends The Center for Texas Music History videos on youtube. Professor Lannon wrote and produced these 10 short documentaries. She writes, “They highlight the enormous diversity of culture in Texas…" Dr. Lannon uses these videos in her Texas history courses, but notes that individual videos could apply to other US History courses as well.
May 2022: Amelia Serafine, Professor of History, recommends the Digital Public Library of America's Primary Source Sets. These sets "offer students a small curated bite of the myriad digitized primary sources available on a historical topic, allowing them to focus on analyzing the documents and creating a historical argument of their own." She uses this resource in her History 1301 and 1302 courses.
April 2022: Erik Anderson, Professor of History, recommends the Portal to Texas History. He uses this database of nearly two million digitized items related to the history of our state in his Texas History course. Additionally, The Portal includes SAC's Ranger digital archives from 1930-2019 with more issues to be added in the near future.
February 2022: David Katakalos, Professor of Psychology, recommends Jacob Bronowski's video The Tragedy of Mankind. Professor Katakalos uses this video in several courses including General Psychology and Lifespan Growth and development. He writes that in this video, "Bronowski makes a powerful case for what science can do and why we must remember we are human."
Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology, 2nd Edition. "The first peer-reviewed open access textbook for cultural anthropology courses. Produced by the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges." Perspectives is used by instructors in the SAC Humanities department. The Library has also purchased a print copy for students who prefer this format.
November 2021: Professor Veronica Morrison recommends the San Antonio Museum of Art's "Browse the Collection feature." Professor Morrison uses this site for her humanities classes and writes that "this site allows people to virtually visit the museum despite COVID. So many eras of human history and so many world cultures are represented in the collection."
October 2021: SAC history professors Thomas Clarkin and Sean Duffy recommend the OpenStax U.S. History textbook. Professor Clarkin writes that this text covers the "major themes and topics required in the course and aligns with the History Student Learning Outcomes." Professor Duffy notes that, "Although free, this is a fully peer-reviewed textbook with all the bells and whistles as for-cost books."
September 2021: Sharla Jones, professor of ESL, recommends Intermediate ESL Writing: Types of Sentences. Professor Jones created this resource and uses it her ESL Writing 3 class. Intermediate ESL Writing can be found in the OERTX Repository.
April 2021: Christopher Haugen, Professor of Philosophy, recommends the series of youtube videos he has created for several of his philosophy classes, including Introduction to Philosophy, Introduction to Ethics and Introduction to Logic. His videos that explain James Rachel's The Elements of Moral Philosophy, are used by several ACCD faculty and faculty teaching in other states.
May 2021: Benjamin Gracy, Professor of Humanities, recommends the 900th Anniversary of the Oldest Arabic Medical Manuscript in the Collections of the National Library of Medicine. Professor Gracy has used this source in his Humanities 1301 class to focus on medieval Islam as the inheritor of the scientific and medical traditions of the ancient Greeks.
March 2021: Lisa Ramos, Professor of History and Mexican American Studies (MAS), recommends this Smithsonian American History exhibit for its amazing array of images of girls of different backgrounds and clear, concise descriptions. She will use this resource in her Mexican American History II courses.
January 2021: SAC librarians recommend Standard Ebooks, a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks.
