Skip to main content

Library Policies & Procedures: Philosophy

Policies and procedures governing the SAC Library.

Collection Development: Philosophy

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY

Tina Petimezas, Updated: 4/19/2013

PHILOSOPHY DEPARTMENT

GENERAL OBJECTIVES

The Philosophy collection should emphasize the works of noted philosophers and commentaries on their works.  Reference works include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and bibliographical material.  General histories and works about specific groups, i.e. women, Asian, etc., will be acquired.

SCOPE OF COVERAGE

Language: English will be the primary language of the collection, unless there is a special request from a student or faculty for         philosophy materials in another language.          

Geography: World coverage, with an emphasis on Western Philosophy.

Chronology: All time periods.

MATERIAL TYPES

All formats, including ebooks, may be considered for purchase.  Serials are heavily relied upon for current material.  Textbooks provide background information.  Audiovisual materials will be reviewed for selective additions.  CD-ROMs and DVDs are generally added when accompanying print material, but may be purchased separately when available.  

SELECTION TOOLS

Materials will be identified through recommendations in or from:

Faculty and student

Booklist

Library Journal

Choice

Publishers Catalogs and Flyers

Oxford University Press

Princeton University Press

Westview Press

Yale University Press

New Titles Elected for Essay and General Literature Index

Ref B72 .B96 1986 Philosophy : a Guide to the Reference Literature

Ref B53 .D44 1980 Philosopher=s Guide to Sources, Research Tools...

Ref Z1039.C65 B67 1988 Books for College Libraries           

Ref Z1035.1 .G89 1996  Guide to Reference Books                


RETENTION POLICY

Superseded editions will be removed from the shelves unless they are listed in a major reference tool.  Qualifications for indefinite retention include: historical information on the subject; local connection; community college connection; listed in standard reference works; out of print.

San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Library interior & exterior photos by: Leonard Ziegler, SAC photographer

Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College