Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources: connect off-campus

connect off-campus

Off-Campus Troubleshooting

 

Troubleshooting Off-campus Access to SAC Library Resources

1.   Verify you are currently affiliated with Alamo Colleges 

  • Call 210-485-0555 and ask to have your account certified for all areas of Alamo ACES and Banner.
  • Or, ask for the Registrar, HR, or Department/Organization who can certify you as active in all areas of Alamo ACES and Banner.
  • PLEASE NOTE: Using ACES or Banner does not guarantee access to San Antonio College eresources.
  • Set your browser to accept cookies

  • Be sure JavaScript is turned on (browser default).

    • JavaScript must be enabled for the proxy service to work.

  • For SSL errors: clear your cache

2.  When prompted to log in, enter:  Your ACES Username and ACES Password. 

ACES Log in Page

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
3.  If you do not see your ACES login page, go to the ACES login page and log in. To access the SAC Library click My Library on the side menu.
  
ACES Side Menu
 
4. Select the SAC Library from the Alamo Colleges Libraries list.  
 
ACES Library List
6.  You will be taken back to the SAC Library home page, where you can start your research again.   

5 Steps to Off-campus Access - An Example

  1. Start at the SAC Library home page.
  2. Under Start Your Research, click Use a specific database.
  3. Scroll down or search to find your database. As an example, search for Naxos.
  4. Click the entry for Naxos Music Library.
  5. If you are identified as an off-campus user, you will be redirected to log in through Alamo ACES.

Forgot your login info?

NOTESAC Library-licensed resources are for affiliated students, faculty, and staff.
 
You will be asked to enter a username and password for access.
 
  • The username is your ACES login
    • Example:  jsmith220
  • The password is your ACES password.
  • Don't know your ACES login or password?
  • Call District IT at 210-486-0555 to find out your ACES login or password.

SAC Library Login Problem Report Form

If you have issues accessing library resources in any way, please contact us so we can get you help to resolve these issues.

Off-campus Information

What is EZproxy?  

EZproxy provides a means to authenticate users who want access to San Antonio College Library's electronic resources including databases, streaming videos, eBooks, and eJournals.

When on-campus, connections to most resources are automatic. Off-campus access and particular resources require an authenticated login through a proxy server.

Why do I need to use the proxy service to access library resources?  

Remote access to SAC Library databases is limited to SAC faculty, staff, and students currently taking classes at SAC. Contracts established by electronic resource vendors require the Library to limit remote access to faculty, staff, and students with a current, appropriate affiliation to San Antonio College. When on-campus (i.e.., within the SAC network), connections to most resources are automatic. Patron records for SAC-affiliated users in the Library's online system are derived from Alamo Colleges IT systems and include name, address, ACES ID and Banner ID, status, and expiration date.

Off-campus access to electronic resources requires authenticating through a proxy server. When you attempt to access an electronic resource such as a database, eBook, streaming video, or eJournal, you will be prompted to log in with your ACES ID and Banner ID. Please see our Policy on Access to Licensed Web Resources for more information regarding licensing restrictions.

When do I need to use the proxy service? 

You will need to be authenticated for remote access when:

  1. Connecting to the Library from a network connection that identifies you as off-campus.
  2. Connecting to an electronic resource that requires authentication by the electronic resource provider.

What browsers are supported? 

EZproxy is browser-independent. Most web browsers will work with EZproxy. However, if you are having problems that are not related to login information, please try a different browser.

Where can I get help?

If you have difficulty accessing library resources remotely, you may:

Copy & Paste to Create a Persistent Link

If you want to deep link to a page of database search results or link to a specific source (article, book chapter, evideo, etc.) sometimes the databases do not offer what is called a Permalink or Durable link. URLs which allow successful off-campus access will always include the following at the beginning of the URL: https://login.aclibproxy.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

If you are sharing a link to a page of search results or a link to specific source such as an article and it does NOT contain that login.aclibproxy part of the address at the beginning of the URL, you can quickly convert the link to automatically add that information by using our URL Converter tool:

Off-campus link converter

*Note: not all databases support durable links.

 

Off-campus Policy

Access Policy for Licensed Electronic Resources

  • On behalf of its Library, San Antonio College licenses a variety of research materials (databases, electronic journals and books, and other Internet and web-accessible resources) for online access through the Internet and Web.
     
  • Anyone using a campus library workstation or the SAC wireless network may access these resources on site. However, only currently enrolled (e.g., actively taking classes) SAC students, faculty, and staff are eligible to access licensed resources from off-campus locations. Authentication is required by the vendors of these resources.
     
  • San Antonio College affiliation is maintained and tracked in Alamo Colleges systems. Patron records for SAC-affiliated users in the Libraries' online system are derived from Alamo Colleges systems.
     
  • The system deployed by the Alamo Colleges to provide authentication for remote access uses the ACES ID and password as the login credentials. For this reason, it is incumbent upon all users to keep login credentials confidential and to report a missing or stolen ID as soon as possible.
     
  • The Alamo Colleges take seriously the legal responsibility to comply with contracts and abide by current copyright law and is diligent in maintaining its database of eligible users.
     
  • The Library works closely with other Alamo Colleges units to resolve status and classification problems for eligible users.
     
  • Systematic downloading of articles or other information, sharing of articles or other information with individuals at other institutions, making content available on openly accessible servers/websites, and using such articles or information for commercial purposes is expressly prohibited.
     
  • Users should be aware that publishers and vendors may monitor the use of electronic resources to ensure that the terms of their license agreements are being enforced. Alamo Colleges is also contractually obligated to investigate reported misuse of licensed resources.
     
  • The consequences of misuse could result in termination of the license and loss of the use of this material by the entire Alamo Colleges community. Violators of this policy may be subject to disciplinary policies, criminal prosecution, and/or be liable for damages to the fullest extent provided by law.
San Antonio College Library, 1819 Main Ave., San Antonio, TX 78212
Located in the Moody Learning Center (MLC) building, floors 2 - 5
Reference Desk: (210) 486-0554 * Send Email
Copyright © 2015 San Antonio College