Searching as Strategic Exploration

Latinx Community College Students and the (In)Opportunities Brought by COVID-19 Pandemic
Transforming the Culture of Academia One Classroom at a Time: Testimonio of a Latina Junior Faculty Member Engaging in Latina Critical Pedagogical Activism
Whose culture has capital? A critical race theory discussion of community cultural wealth
Socioeconomic Status and College: How SES Affects College Experiences and Outcomes
How Do I Begin To Tell a Story that Has Not Been Told? Anarchism, Autoethnography, and the Middle Ground
An Apartheid of Knowledge in Academia: The Struggle Over the "Legitimate" Knowledge of Faculty of Color
Unsettling Methodologies/Decolonizing Movements
Utilizing Intersectionality to Engage Dialog in Higher Education
Hidden in the Ivy
Decolonization is not a metaphor
A Critical Review of the Model Minority Myth in Selected Literature on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in Higher Education
How Culturally Engaging Campus Environments Influence Sense of Belonging in College: An Examination of Differences Between White Students and Students of Color
Victimization and Microaggressions Targeting LGBTQ College Students: Gender Identity As a Moderator of Psychological Distress
Imagining a Trans* Epistemology: What Liberation Thinks Like in Postsecondary Education
Race without Racism: How Higher Education Researchers Minimize Institutional Norms
Cultivating Campus Environments to Maximize Success Among Latino and Latina College Students
Critical Race Perspectives on Theory in Student Affairs
Using a Chicana Feminist Epistemology in Educational Research
A Vision for Equity: Committing to Equity and Inclusive Excellence: Campus-Based Strategies for Student Success
Reducing the Gender Achievement Gap in College Science: A Classroom Study of Values Affirmation

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Large collection of streaming educational films with content in: business, economics, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. New programs added monthly. Note: A high speed Internet connection is required.
Want to share a URL or EMBED video code? See our how-to guide.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Important scholarly journals delivered as high quality page images and articles downloads are in PDF format. Coverage usually stops from 2 to 5 years prior to current year depending on each journal's publisher. Subjects include: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Language & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, & Statistics.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Covers multiple topics including the hard sciences, medicine, engineering and business. Includes the New York Times from 1985 to the present as well as the London Times and Financial Times. Covers 1980 to present.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851-2013) This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable access to the content of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 to 2013. Includes full page, PDF format images for non-copyrighted years. Images for an additional year will be added annually as copyright expires. Includes the full run of the newspaper beginning with issue number one in 1851.
Discovery: search the catalog and more This link opens in a new window
Your all-in-one search tool to find books, media, articles, and more.

Latino Civil Rights Timeline
From "Teaching Tolerance" a project of the Southern Poverty Law Center.
Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964
Mexican American Civil Rights Struggles in Texas
C-SPAN interview with the authors. Historians talked about the history of Mexican-American civil rights struggles in Texas. Their recent books each examine different historical periods when Mexican Americans have struggled for equality. The panelists also responded to questions from members of the audience. Ricardo Romo moderated. Cynthia Orozco is the author of No Mexicans, Women, or Dogs Allowed: The Rise of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement about the League of United Latin-American Citizens (LULAC), founded by Mexican-American men in 1929. Emilio Zamora is the author of Claiming Rights and Righting Wrongs in Texas: Mexican Workers and Job Politics during World War II. David Montejano is the author of Quixote’s Soldiers: A Local History of the Chicano Movement, 1966-1981, about San Antonio, Texas.
Tejano Voices: Rosie Castro interview
She covers many aspects of the Chicano Movement and speaks freely about prominent Mexican American political figures Henry Cisneros and Henry B. Gonzales. She recalls the political gatherings at Kramer's Polish Restaurant and her involvement in the Committee for Barrio Betterment. She refers to her participation in an unsuccessful migrant education project in Michigan arranged through the Texas Institute for Educational Development and reveals the circumstances of her arrest during the 1970 boycott of the San Antonio Savings Association, which was owned by San Antonio's mayor, Walter McAllister. She refers to an incident at St. Mary's University involving Albert Garza Bustamante and George Velásquez and assails the Good Government League.
Mapping American Social Movements: Chicano Movements
Scholars have paid some attention to the geography of Chicano activism but not in the detail that now becomes possible with the maps this project provides. The starting assumption is that the movement was concentrated in the Southwest where Mexican American populations were largest. That is true but our maps show activism was not spread evenly through the region and that certain organizations and types of activism were limited to particular geographies.

Equity Advance & Resources

Dr. Claudia García-Louis is an assistant professor of educational leadership and policy studies at the University of Texas San Antonio.

May 5, 2019

Congratulations to Project MALES Affiliates Dr. Claudia García-Louis, Dr. Nydia Sánchez, and Dr. Deryl Hatch-Tocaimaza for their Recent Achievements!

Three stellar partners

Congratulations to Dr. Claudia García-Louis (University of Texas at San Antonio), Dr. Deryl Hatch-Tocaimaza (University of Nebraska-Lincoln), and Dr. Nydia Sánchez (University of Texas at Austin) who recently recognized for their accomplishments.

Dr. Claudia García-Louis received the 2019 ACPA Emerging Scholars Award. This award supports, encourages, and honors early-career professionals that contribute to student affairs and higher education scholarship. Each ACPA recipient will receive a $3000.00 research grant.

Dr. Nydia Sánchez accepted her new faculty position at the University of San Diego. She will transition to San Diego, California as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Leadership Studies beginning in fall 2019.

Dr. Deryl Hatch-Tocaimaza was recently promoted to Associate Professor. He is currently the Faculty Associate of the Nebraska Center for Research on Children, Youth, Families and Schools (CYFS) at UNL and is the principal investigator of the Student Success Program Research Initiative.

Please join Project MALES in congratulating them for their new honors!

Language of Appeasement: By substituting diversity and inclusion rhetoric for transformative efforts to promote equity and justice, colleges have avoided recognizable institutional change, contends Dafina-Lazarus Stewart.

Maria del Refugio Ozuna, age 13, and Mrs. San Juan Gonzales, age 77, working at the Southern Pecan Shelling Company, Jan.17, 1938.| Photo courtesy of UTSA

Emma Tenayuca, "La Pasionaria de Texas" (Led the 1938 Pecan Sheller Strike in San Antonio)

Source Citation (MLA 8th Edition) "Dolores Huerta (center), wearing a sweater with the UFW symbol, encourages other workers to fight..." The Sixties in America Reference Library, edited by Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast, vol. 2: Biographies, UXL, 20

Pedagogical Practices to Advance Equity | Dr. Claudia García-Louis: Readings

Dr. Claudia Garcia-Louis

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Equity Advance & Resources

Dr. Claudia García-Louis is an assistant professor of educational leadership and policy studies at the University of Texas San Antonio.

Congratulations to Project MALES Affiliates Dr. Claudia García-Louis, Dr. Nydia Sánchez, and Dr. Deryl Hatch-Tocaimaza for their Recent Achievements!

Language of Appeasement: By substituting diversity and inclusion rhetoric for transformative efforts to promote equity and justice, colleges have avoided recognizable institutional change, contends Dafina-Lazarus Stewart.

Maria del Refugio Ozuna, age 13, and Mrs. San Juan Gonzales, age 77, working at the Southern Pecan Shelling Company, Jan.17, 1938.| Photo courtesy of UTSA

Emma Tenayuca, "La Pasionaria de Texas" (Led the 1938 Pecan Sheller Strike in San Antonio)

Source Citation (MLA 8th Edition) "Dolores Huerta (center), wearing a sweater with the UFW symbol, encourages other workers to fight..." The Sixties in America Reference Library, edited by Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast, vol. 2: Biographies, UXL, 20

The federal Bracero program, which recruited 4.6 million Mexican citizens to work in agriculture in the United States.

"You cannot oppress the people who are not afraid anymore," Cesar Chavez

"Sun Mad," first created in 1981 by Artista Ester Hernandez

Mas arte by Ester Hernandez

Celebrated author Tomas Rivera, whose works include: "y no se lo tragó la tierra" (...And the Earth Did Not Devour Him)

Pay to Vote!

Selma

Impact of Texas Voter ID Law

Tool: Credo Reference

Tool: US History in Context

Tool: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Tool: Library Discovery

Tool: JSTOR (journal storage)

Tool: ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Times

Off-campus access